Skip to content

When life gives you lemons

December 14, 2009

Make lemon pasta. obviously.

Truthfully, I’m not a huge pasta fan so this may be one of the few pasta recipes I post. This just happens to be one of my favorites dishes plus it’s a family recipe and nothing beats that. I remember my mom would make this dish [only] when my Grandma would come into town because it was her favorite plus it always brought everyone together for dinner, even the neighborhood kids. Needless to say, it was only served on special occasions. That is until my now husband started requesting it. Oh yes, the son she never had. whatever. Since I’m a good wife and knowing that it’s his favorite I decided to make it for him this evening. Real motive – I need him to go to the post office &  the pay the rest of the bills.

To make this a gluten-free dish, just substitute the spaghetti or angel hair for rice, corn or potato pasta. I recommend either Tinkyada or Lundberg.

Lemon & Garlic Pasta Recipe

Ingredients

1/2 lb spaghetti or angel hair pasta

4 garlic cloves, minced

1/4 cup olive oil

2 Tbsp butter

1/4 cup fresh Italian parsley, chopped

1 tsp lemon zest, grated

2 tsp lemon juice

Salt & pepper

Parmesan cheese

Directions

Cook pasta as directed, and drain. Meanwhile, mince the garlic. In a small pan, heat the oil and butter. Add the garlic and cook until tender. Toss the garlic, oil, parsley, lemon zest and juice, salt and pepper (to taste) with the pasta. Add parmesan cheese as desired, and serve immediately. Yes, it’s that easy.

Makes 4 servings.

This is an excellent dish with chicken, fish or shrimp. I have a fabulous shrimp recipe that I’ll post that goes great with this dish.

For all you health nerds (like me) I recommend adding steamed veggies to make this a more fiber rich meal. I add broccoli, cauliflower, zucchini, &/or yellow squash.

Bon Appétit!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. trish permalink
    December 15, 2009 10:18 pm

    Yummy! Will you make this for me if I go to the Post Office for you tonight? Great post Lisa!

  2. Linda Baker permalink
    December 18, 2009 1:40 pm

    I am excited that my lemon pasta recipe made it to your blog… it makes me want to make it again.. Love you, Mom

Leave a Reply

