Skip to content

Lazy Thoughts

November 4, 2009

pottery barn

I swear I can hear my couch [or pottery barn’s, above] calling my name this very instance

I woke up feeling like it should be Friday, but no, it’s only Wednesday. Too bad I’m already exhausted and the only thing I can think about right now is going home, curling up on the couch and watching my mindless reality shows that are waiting for me on my DVR (side note: I. Love. DVR). Unfortunately, it’s not likely I can convince my husband to cook me dinner tonight, he probably has a date with the gym. This is not an unusual circumstance, therefore I’m planning to make miss Ina Garten’s chunky guacamole, accompanied by my favorite gluten-free rice chips. I wouldn’t consider this cooking, it’s basically chopping, mixing and won’t take you more than 15 minutes. Seriously, it’s that easy AND healthy!

guacamole salad

Barefoot Contessa at Home

GUACAMOLE RECIPE

1 pint grape tomatoes, halved
1 yellow bell pepper, seeded and ½-inch diced
1 (15 ounce) can black beans, rinsed and drained
½ cup small-diced red onion
2 tablespoons minced jalapeno peppers, seeded (2 peppers)
½ teaspoon freshly grated lime zest
¼ cup freshly squeezed lime juice, (2 limes)
¼ cup good olive oil
1 teaspoon kosher salt
½ teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
½ teaspoon minced garlic
¼ teaspoon ground cayenne pepper
2 ripe Hass avocados, seeded, peeled, and ½-inch diced

Place the tomatoes, yellow pepper, black beans, red onion, jalapeno peppers, and lime zest in a large bowl. Whisk together the lime juice, olive oil, salt, black pepper, garlic, and cayenne pepper and pour over the vegetables. Toss well.

Just before you’re ready to serve the salad, fold the avocados into the salad. Check the seasoning and serve at room temperature. Bon appétit!

Optional: Serve with pita or tortilla chips AND highly suggested, a bottle of Sauvignon Blanc.

Serves 6

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lara permalink
    November 4, 2009 5:52 pm

    I love it that it’s not even 10 a.m. and you’re already thinking of dinner.

  2. missmuffett permalink
    November 5, 2009 5:23 pm

    Get out of my head! I seriously printed this recipe yesterday and made it for dinner for my mom and cousin last night! This is weird, but helpful! Can you tell me what I want for dinner tonight?!

Leave a Reply

